Digital Footprints

footprint
Photo Source

 

A digital footprint can probably be one of the most permanent and maybe scariest footprint an individual can make.  If a person sets up any type of digital account, interacts online in any way, or even associates with someone who performs these activities online, than a digital footprint will be created whether a person wants one or not.  This can be scary because sometimes items may be included in a digital footprint that are less than favorable or possibly inaccurate. Because a digital footprint is unavoidable and is the new way of making a first impression, it is important to stay on top of what is posted about you and make good decisions about what you post and how you want to be perceived digitally.

After searching my name in Google, Bing, Yahoo, and Ask.com, I found it interesting that there are other people out there with the same name as me.  In Google, I had to include my maiden name in order to find myself.  It was clear to me that the search results came up based upon my social media accounts including Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, YouTube, and my WordPress blog for the EdTech program.  The images I found of myself were ones I recognized from Facebook.  They were all favorable pictures.  The scary items that I found included a listing of every town that I have lived in throughout my life and names of my relatives.  I also found a record of my marriage certificate and a birth record for my daughter.  This birth record was inaccurate because it listed her as being born in 1903.  From this search, I realize now more than ever how important it is to monitor my digital footprint and continue to make wise choices about what I choose to post on the internet.

Leave a Reply

