Digital Divide/Digital Inequality

For the past few weeks I have spent some time reading about the issues of digital divide and digital inequality. Digital divide and digital inequality are two separate factors that impact our society.  Digital divide refers to the gap between demographics and regions that have access to modern information and communications technology and those that do not or have restricted access.   The technology applies to landline telephones, cellular phones and services, television, computers, tablets, and the internet.  Digital inequality moves beyond an inequality in access to technology and encompasses inequality among people with access to technology.  Digital inequality includes people with lack of technical ability, lack of interest or computer literacy, and those who cannot afford it.

We rely on technology more and more each day. We cannot take for granted that everyone in society has the access to technology and knows the most effective way to use it. Even though a gap still exists between technology users, it is shrinking.  The next step is to provide users with the equipment and skills they need to use this technology.  Without this, the gap of digital inequality will widen.  With the knowledge I have gained from my readings, I will better be able to identify areas of digital inequality in my school  and address them according to the AECT Code of Professional Ethics.

After reading about these issues, I used the presentation tool Haiku Deck to explain the issues of digital divide and digital inequality and factors that create digital inequality at the school where I am the technology coordinator.  Please click on this link to view my presentation.  I have created many presentations in PowerPoint, but by using Haiku Deck, I learned new methods for making them more effective.  My takeaway from this project was to keep my slides simple, limit the number of images, use keywords, and break up information into multiple slides.  If I had more time to work on this artifact, I would have broken up my issues of digital inequality and my solutions for these problems even further into more slides.  In order to elicit a discussion from the audience, I  would have asked more questions of the viewer on the solutions slides. Finally, I might have also come up with some catchier titles on my slides and incorporated some of my own images rather than stock photos.  I plan on having my junior high students use Haiku Deck for a future project so that they can become accustomed to creating and giving a more effective presentation.

2 thoughts on “Digital Divide/Digital Inequality

  1. Do you think you will end up using Haiku Deck in your class? I think it is a great idea to have students use it for projects (it will really focus their presentation), but do you think you will make the shift?

    I viewed your presentation as well. What is a smart board? (I know the general concept) But is it effective? How do you find yourself using it? What is a smart table, I have NEVER heard of that before!

    Like

    1. I will probably try and use Haiku Deck in my computer lab. It will most likely be with my middle school students so that they can get better at presenting and talking to the class. They still like to read the board and not talk to their audience about their topic.
      I use my SmartBoard daily. I use it to project information from my computer and present my lessons to the class. I have my students demonstrate what we are doing on the SmartBoard as well. The Smart Table is kind of like the Smart Board but it is a table. There is a screen with interactive software. I have never used one and the one we have in the kindergarten hasn’t worked since I have worked at the school so I can’t really explain how it works that well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

