Code of Professional Ethics in Educational Technology

This past week I spent time reading and reflecting on professional ethics in educational technology including the history behind their creation, the reasoning for them, and how they should be used by educational technologists.  I learned that a code of professional ethics in educational technology was approved by the AECT in November of 2001. Before my EDTECH 501 class, I had not even heard of the AECT and did not even know that a code of professional ethics for educational technology even existed.  This code of professional ethics provides me with a set of guidelines to refer to as I work with my students, my fellow educators, and our school families.  The one thing that I found to be extremely important from my reading is that not only does the AECT provide a code of ethics, but they also emphasize the importance of scenarios related to each principle.  These scenarios provide real-world examples that help an educational technologist to make better informed decisions and avoid unethical situations.  I like that the AECT has gone a step further than just providing a list of principles.  This code of professional ethics helps make educational technology a more visible entity in the field of education.  You can read more of my reflection and my own real-world scenario by clicking on the this link.

Leave a Reply

